AMI Scholarship Program

  • Authored on May 1, 2019

2018 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship recipient Laura Lefevre accepts her cheque from AMI Regional Content Specialist Jim Krysko.

About the Scholarship

Established in 2012, the AMI Scholarship Program was created to celebrate AMI’s commitment to making accessible media for all Canadians. In 2016, the program was renamed the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship in honour of Robert Pearson, AMI's first Accessibility Officer.

The scholarship program is open to Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada with a permanent disability who are currently registered in and returning to a full-time program of study at an accredited Canadian post-secondary college or university. In 2019, AMI will award two $5,000 bursaries to two deserving students with a permanent disability; one from the English community and one from the French.

How to Apply

The 2019 AMI Scholarship Program application window is now closed. Thank you to everyone who applied. The 2019 winners will be announced in the fall.

Past Winners 

Laura Lefevre of Edmonton, AB
Elisanne Pellerin of Montreal, QC

Shelby Brown of Calgary, AB
Yan Gobeil of Montreal, QC 

Sean Heaslip of Vancouver, BC
Valérie Poisson of Montreal, QC

Jack McCormick of Tillsonburg, ON
Louisane LeBlanc of Montreal, QC

Courtney Knight of Burnaby, BC
Judith Oluwatosin Jubril of Brampton, ON

Gillian Murch of Orillia, ON
RuiLin Guo of Barrie, ON

Charmaine Co of Richmond, BC
Jan Boomhouwer of L’Amable, ON