AMI Scholarship Program

AMI President, David Errington, with 2019 winner, Victoria Lacey


About the AMI Scholarship Program

Established in 2012, the AMI Scholarship Program was created to celebrate AMI’s commitment to making accessible media for all Canadians. In 2016, the program was renamed the AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship in honour of Robert Pearson, AMI's first Accessibility Officer.

The scholarship program is open to Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada with a permanent disability who are currently registered in and returning to a full-time program of study at an accredited Canadian post-secondary college or university. In 2019, AMI will award two $5,000 bursaries to two deserving students with a permanent disability; one from the English community and one from the French.

The recipients of the 2019 AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship are Victoria Lacey (above, with AMI President and CEO David Errington) of Toronto, ON, and Léonie Côté from Quebec City. Victoria is in Year 5 of a Masters program in Creative Industries at Ryerson University while Léonie is completing her graduate studies in Clinical Kinesiology at Laval University in Quebec City.

How to Apply

The 2020 application window has closed. Thank you to all of those who applied. Check back for updates in the fall.

Past Recipients 

Victoria Lacey of Toronto, ON
Léonie Côté of Quebec City, QC

Laura Lefevre of Edmonton, AB
Elisanne Pellerin of Montreal, QC

Shelby Brown of Calgary, AB
Yan Gobeil of Montreal, QC 

Sean Heaslip of Vancouver, BC
Valérie Poisson of Montreal, QC

Jack McCormick of Tillsonburg, ON
Louisane LeBlanc of Montreal, QC

Courtney Knight of Burnaby, BC
Judith Oluwatosin Jubril of Brampton, ON

Gillian Murch of Orillia, ON
RuiLin Guo of Barrie, ON

Charmaine Co of Richmond, BC
Jan Boomhouwer of L’Amable, ON